Danish adventures: Veno and Jegindo

Friend island vs the Mussel island experience…

Week two in Struer saw a week of adventures, mishaps and luck in equal measure. I unwittingly took on a five-hour straight walk with my partner through a wilderness trail. Watched a Danish dance showcase my partner is apart of and embarked on two lone escapades to  two very different islands – I’ll let you be the judge of which island experience was most successful.

The glory of movement (and nature)

The dance showcase was a completely new experience for me. It was quite intimate, the hall filled with family and friends of the dancers and locals along to enjoy the show. Even though I could not understand the language, there seemed to be a lovely sense of comradery amongst everyone involved. The dancers where all from the local dance school and ranged from 4 year olds, to pensioners, to people in wheelchairs – which was great and interesting to see. The dances were wide-ranging genres too and it was great to see the look of accomplishment on all of the dance students faces at the end. My partner is not a native Dane and fully endorses taking on something like dancing if you are going to live in a new country.

The walk, we expected  to be a couple of hours at the most, around the lake turned out to be a marvellous, beautiful and fully adventures 5 hours into nature (we did very much appreciate sitting down and a hot chocolate when we got back though!). I have to say it was one of my favourite nature walks I have ever done! We found lots of wildlife, beautiful views, steep hill tracks (I like to call “goats herding tracks”), a Wagtail that almost wacked us straight in the face in the woods and a herd of cows who refused our passage 4 hours into the walk for a good 20 minutes!

Island escapades: A tail of luck and misfortune

Entering the library and finding leaflets endorsing  Jegindo, dubbing it the Mussel Island and Veno – meaning friend island. Both alluding to interesting wildlife being a stones throw away; my interest was caught. Jegindo, told a charming tale of a history of trolls frolicking on the island – how could I resist checking out this place? So off I went on the bus the next day. Lunch prepared and raring to go. The driver spoke no words of English and I no words of Danish. We were at an impasse but I still managed to get the ticket to where I wanted to go. I knew that once I got to the island I would see a little church on the approach that would signal when to get off. No church came…

We drove through a little place of lush green fields but not much else – no sign of an island thus far. We came to a small town and the bus docked for quite a while. There the driver was talking in his native tongue. After a short time I realised he was speaking the same phrase. I stood and noticed there was no one there. What I didn’t realise was he wanted me off the bus! I made a Danish bus driver very angry. Off I got apologetically and very confused.  I knew I had the right bus, it was the only one that left from the stop. Perhaps the trolls had stolen it away? So I was stuck, in a little town that I had no idea existed. I checked the stop, buses didn’t seem to go back to where I came from… odd. I looked for tourist information. Inside was a room filled with leaflets but not one person. Happily I found a train station, but I needed a card to pay. Safe to say panic ensued and I did shed a few tears out dread of being stuck. Luckily, I did manage to make it back to Struer, by train in the end, but that was enough adventure for me that day!

My trip to Friend island was a completely different Kettle of fish. I got to the stop early in the morning and I was the only one there. This time the driver spoke stagnated English. He told me today the bus was free, which I found strange but I got on anyway. Five minutes later a crowd of school kids shoved their way onto the bus and realisation hit me like a wave – this was a school trip. Kindly though they all aloud me to stay on the bus for free. The journey wasn’t very long and the shortest ferry ride I have ever encountered; with a grand total of 2 minutes tops as apart of it. When I got onto the island the preschool teacher could speak English and showed me the way to the main beach. My faith in humanity restored with these kind people I made my way to the beach, finding pretty shells and making a turtle out of stones (I’m still proud of it). Veno (friend island) Isn’t very big and has a heart shaped lake in the northern quarter which can be seen on google maps. The island was beautiful, very much worth the visit and I got to see my first ever hare! Not just one in fact – but five! Which was incredible to see. If you do ever go to Veno I do suggest you bring your own lunch! There is only one shop on the whole island. There is a beach, woodland, harbour and lush green fields (were there is a high chance of seeing pheasants dashing to and from) to visit when you are there and Veno is also home to the smallest church in Denmark (as seen pictured below).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

